Past Continuous Tense


Marilah kita baca ilustrasi cerita past continous tense dibawah ini. Anda diharapkan sudah menguasai past tense agar tidak kesulitan memahaminya.

The Old Cemetery

It was a day last August at 3 ‘oclock pm. While I was walking home on the footpath, I felt tired. There was a large full moon above me. A few trees lined up next to me, as if it was a wall. I knew, in a minute, I would pass the old cemetery that was lied on the outskirt of Surabaya, my hometown.

The wind was blowing when I started passing that cemetery. Basically I wasn’t afraid to pass that place. But, I didn’t know, at that moment, I was so scared. Suddenly I froze. I saw a figure standing near a tree. I couldn’t see its face, but she/he wore a white robe.

I closed my eyes, continued to walk and did silent prayer. All of sudden, I heard a voice.

“Do you mind helping me?”

It was a girl voice. I opened my eyes. I saw a shoulder-length haircut girl, smiling and looked helpless.

“Yes?” I said with a hoarsed voice.

“Do you mind conveying my message to my mother?”

“What message?”

“Tell her I love her so much.”

“Why don’t you convey it by yourself?”

“I am dead. I can’t go from my tomb.”

I couldn’t feel the road. My vision became blurred. Everything was changing slowly into dark. Unconsciously I fell to the ground.

 

Past continous dipakai untuk:

  1. Perbuatan yang sedang berlangsung di waktu lampau
    Contoh:

    • My kids were playing yesterday morning
    • He was watching television all afternoon
  2. Menyatakan perbuatan yang sudah dimulai dan sedang berlangsung ketika perbuatan lain menyusul di waktu lampau
    Contoh:

    • While I was bathing in bathroom I heard someone calling me
    • My friends were talking about me when I came
  3. Digunakan untuk menyatakan kebiasaan buruk seseorang
    Contoh:

    • Harun was always sleeping on duty
    • She was always leaving the tap running

Rumus:

  1. Kalimat positif
    I/she/he + was + present participle
    We/you/they + were + present participle
    Contoh:

    • He was living in Indonesia
    • They were sitting in a cafe
  2. Kalimat tanya
    was + I/she/he + present participle
    were + We/you/they + present participle
    Contoh:

    • Was he living in Indonesia?
    • Were they sitting in a cafe?
  3. Kalimat negatif
    I/she/he + was + not + present participle
    We/you/they + were + not + present participle
    Contoh:

    • He wasn’t living in Indonesia.
    • They weren’t sitting in a café

 

Tinggalkan Balasan

