Past Perfect Continuous Tense


Past perfect continuous tense termasuk tenses yang jarang digunakan di dalam Bahasa Inggris, namun kita masih perlu mempelajarinya. Saya perlu beberapa waktu untuk membuat ilustrasi cerita singkat yang menggambarkan past perfect continuous tense seperti dibawah ini.

Everything About You

It’s not easy to ease the pain while you’re remembering someone who you love. It happens to me. Her name is Katarina. She was my girlfriend. We had been dating for three years and broken up in 2001. I had been looking for her since 2010 but I didn’t find her anywhere. I tell you frankly forgetting her seems impossible for me.

Yes, she was a pretty girl. I did like everything about hair. Her hair always blew fragrance and shone like a silk.

One day, I had been reading a book in the library for an hour before she came to me. Her eyes looked red. Her cheeks wet with tears.

“What’s up?”

“Sorry, Nala. We have to break up.”

“What’s wrong? Did I make mistake?” I shocked and felt like missing my life.

“Do you remember? We went out yesterday?”

I nodded.

“My father saw us. He doesn’t like you.”

“Because I’m javanese and you’re chinese?”

She nodded.

I took her hands then I kissed it gently. Her tears flowed freely. We knew, that was our last.

Past perfect continuous tense digunakan untuk menyatakan kejadian yang berlangsung di masa lampau ketika suatu kejadian lain mengambil tempat.

Contoh:

  1. She had been fighting with her cancer for a long time until she passed away
  2. Anjasmara looked very tired although he had been sleeping all day
  3. Anne had been waiting for several hours before her boyfriend picked her up

Rumus past perfect continuous tense:

  1. Kalimat positif
    Subject + had + been + v-ing
    Contoh:
    I had been living in Indonesia since 1998
    It had been raining for 2 hours
    She had been playing since morning before she went to Kenjeran beach
  2. Kalimat negatif
    Subject + had + not + been + v-ing
    Contoh:
    I hadn’t been living in Indonesia since 1998
    It hadn’t been raining for 2 hours
    She hadn’t been playing since morning before she went to Kenjeran beach
  3. Kalimat tanya
    had + subject + been + v-ing
    Contoh:
    Had I been living in Indonesia since 1998?
    Had it been raining for 2 hours?
    Had she been playing since morning before she went to Kenjeran beach?

One response to “Past Perfect Continuous Tense

Tinggalkan Balasan

